Skip to main content
On Thursday, December 15th, the Alfam Miami Team traveled to Gallery O in Washington, DC for the first annual 2022 GET Cities Innovators Bash. The 2022 GET Cities Innovators Bash honors the achievements of women, trans, and nonbinary persons in technology, as well as the allies and accomplices who assist them via investments, sponsorship, and advocacy.
GET Cities exists to accelerate the representation and leadership of women in tech. We do this by collaborating with individuals and organizations to design and pilot interventions that help increase the number of women entering the tech workforce and the amount of venture capital funding going to women tech founders.

Get Cities highlights extraordinary leaders.

Despite evidence showing that women make larger returns than males do, less than 3% of investment goes to women tech founders, and the tech workforce is comprised of less than 30% women, with fewer being promoted into senior roles. It’s a downward spiral that black and Latina innovators earn fewer than 1% percent of venture capital financing.

Celebrating Innovators

Get Cities Awards

We celebrated the tech stars that shattered barriers this year with an evening of live music, art, tech displays, demos, and delectable food. This event brought together leaders, disruptors, and allies who used their platforms to promote our united goal of creating a diverse and economically competitive tech community.

2022 Honorees

Angela Dingle
CEO of the Year

April Christina Curley
Tenacity Award

Ben Magnus
Champion of the Year

Brittany Young
Community Partner of the Year

Buki Catherine Froelke
Rising Star

Cityworks DC
Workforce Initiative of the Year

Craig Newmark
Ambassador of the Year

Dawn Myers
Founder of the Year

Dr. Diana L. Burley
Excellence in Academia

Dr. Caroline Solomon
Excellence in Academia

2022 Honorees

Upsurge Baltimore
Amplification Award

A. Jay Nwachu
Investor of the Year

Jill Klein
Advocate of the Year

Joycelyn James
Impact Award

Techstars DC
Tech Accelerator of the Year

Mac Conwell
Investor of the Year

Maria Pope
Ambassador of the Year

Michaela Althouse
Journalist Champion of the Year

Monique Frazier
CIO on the Rise

Sammy Popat
Advocate of the Year

Sara Gilgore
Journalist Champion of the Year

With an evening of live music, art, tech exhibitions, demos, and delicious vittles, we celebrated the tech stars who broke barriers this year. This event included leaders, disrupters, and allies, who leverage their platforms to support our collective commitment to building a diverse and economically competitive tech community.